Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Home Up Contents

Bishop's Palace

Catholic Cathedral Bishop's Palace St Otteran's Hospital Reginald's Tower The French Church Dominican Church Holy Ghost Hospital

 

 

Bishop's Palace, Waterford, from The Mall

Bishop Charles Este, born in London in 1696, commissioned the renowned architect, Richard Castle, to design and build this building, described as one of the largest and finest episcopal buildings in Ireland. The building work was begun in the early 1740's but when Este died in 1745 the palace was unfinished and his successor, Bishop Chevenix turned to John Roberts to complete the work. The renowned architectural historian Mark Girouard has described it as being "built of beautifully cut limestone ashlar and [it] has the handsome reticence of the best Irish Georgian architecture." The thirteenth-century city wall that ran along the edge of the property was incorporated into the formal stepped gardens that were a feature of the palace. The palace is now home to the engineering section of Waterford Corporation. 

Home ] Up ]

Copyright 2006 Waterford History